Ancient House Visits India

Creating the Duleep Singh gallery

Rain, rain, go away…..

Leave a comment

It was almost like being back in England today, it rained and rained, making the sky as grey as any English late winter day. It was my last day before going to Chandigarh for a few days. Mr & Mrs Singh Sandhanwalia arrived at my hotel and gave me a beautiful pink Punjabi suit, they really have been very kind whilst I have been here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Not allowing the rain to stop us, we then went off for a little retail therapy in the bazaars around the Golden Temple. Shopping in Amritsar is completely different to shopping in England, I really enjoyed the sari shop where we sat down and fabric was brought out and shown to us on a white sheeted floor. I think they were quite amused by the request for sparkly fabric!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Shawls purchased, next stop was the famous Gurdas Ram Jalebian Wale shop. Jalebians are fried in pure gee and coated in a sugary syrup. Tony Singh, the Scottish Sikh chef featured the shop during his visit to Amritsar as part of A Cook Abroad on BBC 2 recently. Jalebian’s taste as good as they look!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

During my time in Amritsar I’ve experienced so many things that are so different to life in Thetford; the ladies of Amritsar Inner Wheel however, bear a remarkable resemblance to the ladies of Thetford Inner Wheel. I was particularly touched that they started their meeting with their prayer in English in my honor. Welcoming, noisy and fun to be with, I had a lovely time with the ladies especially Maina. Once banners had been exchanged the ladies told me about their group and the projects they’ve been supporting. One of the nicest outcomes of my trip are the extra partnerships I’ve been able to facilitate and the beginning of new friendships.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Next stop Chandigarh!

Leave a Reply

